TINY TUESDAY

I decided that I would stay away from any sort of festive theme for Tiny Tuesday, so thought going out to have a wander around the garden would be a good idea.  There are still lots of flowers blooming, but also many that have died off, so Mr. HCB has tidied those up and cut them back where necessary.

I did notice that several of our clematis plants are looking rather sad, so must read up on how and when to prune them - I can never remember and have to look it up every year.

As I wandered past the honeysuckle with its black berries, the polyanthus plants blooming profusely, the violas struggling to keep their heads up, a tiny little strawberry flower smiling at me and a little rosebud on my Queen of Sweden bush, drooping heavily under the weight of the rain - see extra - I spotted this little feather caught on a plant.  I stood and watched it for sometime - you can do that when you’re retired - and every time the wind blew, it looked just like a little bird about to take off.  I took a few shots of that and then carried on wandering.  

It wasn’t cold - in fact, I didn’t have a coat on - and I really enjoyed those few moments of peace in the garden.  With all the frenetic activity surrounding Christmas, we do well to stop and enjoy a few moments of stillness - and even if you aren’t retired, you can do that, wherever you are.  Why not try it?

“Within you there is
     a stillness and sanctuary
          to which you can retreat
               at any time and 
                    be yourself.”
Hermann Hesse

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.