MONO MONDAY

We had some business to do in Old Town, so went out early, hoping that there wouldn’t be a queue at the Post Office, but unfortunately there was - and it was very long - so because I needed to get a couple of packages weighed, I had no choice but to wait, but it was quite quick.  

Prior to that, however, we went into Jack’s and I took a copy of last week’s Blip of Pascal and he was delighted.  I told him he should look at all the lovely comments, which he says he will do.  He sat and chatted with us for a while - physically distanced, of course - and we compared notes about the arthritis we both get in our hands.  

The theme today for MM is “A portrait of someone you admire or a portrait of your pet” so when I asked Mr. HCB if he would be happy to be my subject today, his response was “I guess I might fall into both those categories” so here is Mr. HCB, posing complete with his Tilley hat - his “trademark”.  I actually preferred the shot in colour, but decided to abide by the rules this week!

Whilst we were in the shop paying for the carpet for my Quiet Room, the heavens opened and it lashed down with rain, although it had been quite sunny when we first went out.  However, by the time we had paid our bill and passed the time of day with the owner, the rain had almost stopped, so we didn’t get too wet going back to the car.

Mr. HCB then said he needed to fill the car with petrol - the first time for about two months - to see us over the Christmas period - not that we are going anywhere much, so on the way home, we popped into the garage.  

Just as we arrived home and Mr. HCB said that we had done all we had set out to do, I realised that we hadn’t paid for our coffees in Jack’s - so I quickly rang Pascal, who said we could pay next time we were in.  We are so used to going up to the counter to order and pay that we clean forgot - ah well, they know we will be back!

The things that brought me joy today:

Seeing Pascal in Jack’s and chatting with him.

Meeting Margaret, another friend from Jack’s, whilst we were in the queue for the Post Office - chatting with her about her cat who had recently died and expressing our sympathy.  I made her laugh when I told her that I had just posted her card in the Post Box, but could have saved the price of a stamp!

Smelling the lovely soup I am making for our lunch - and being grateful we have enough to eat.

“Blessed is he (or she) who has learned 
     to admire but not envy,
          to follow but not imitate,
to praise but not flatter,
     and to lead but not manipulate.”
William Arthur Ward

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.