MONO MONDAY - FESTIVE

I was up and out this morning by 6.45 in order to get to Waitrose for when they opened at 7 o’clock and I did it with 5 minutes to spare, so had a walk over the bridge which spans the canal and just enjoyed being out in the morning air.  It wasn’t too cold and I quite enjoyed those few moments of peace.

I did my shopping and was home by 8 o’clock, much to Mr. HCB’s surprise, so we sat and had chatted whilst I had my cup of coffee and bowl of porridge.

I had taken several shots inside Waitrose, but they weren’t quite what I wanted for the word “Festive” but I just left them on the back-burner so to speak and thought that something would turn up and if it didn’t then, there was always the Christmas tree in our lounge!

Mr. HCB has spent the morning in the garden, pottering around, filling the bird feeders and doing a myriad other little jobs that need doing before the winter.  One of the jobs was to cover many of our raised beds, because the local cats seem to think they are giant litter trays - so he was pleased that he was able to do most of the jobs, even though it was quite drizzley for most of the morning.  He didn’t get to scarify the grass with his new “beast” - a rather large Greenworks scarifier - and which he says he will accept as his Christmas present - which is good, because I can’t think of anything else to buy him.  At our age, as I’m sure many will agree with, if we need anything, we just go out and buy it!

I decided to make a Mincemeat Cake this afternoon - the recipe is below for anyone who is interested - and what could be more festive than that?  I am cooking this in my Remoska, and it’s already smelling good.  I made two a few weeks ago, and put them in the freezer, but will probably keep this one out so that we have something if anyone calls - not that we are expecting anyone, but you never know.

It is certainly a good way to use a jar of mincemeat and not having any rum to hand, I put in a dessert spoonful of honey liqueur, which is quite old, but still tasted all right - I knew there was something else I should have bought at Waitrose!  Mr. HCB was a star, as always, and washed up all the things used to make the cake!

I was interested to receive a card from a friend I met at Lee Abbey many, many years ago, and with whom I have kept in touch with over the years, when she said “I feel as though I have been close to you the whole year, following your Blips and in particular your Abstracts for the Mamie Martin Fund.  Congratulations on reaching 100 - that was excellent...”  So, this Blip is dedicated to Joan - thank you for your card and good wishes and I’m so glad you enjoy my Blips - and Mr. HCB sends Christmas wishes too!

Advent Haiku
Festive Mincemeat Cake
smells very good whilst cooking -
Christmas is coming.
Maureen Iles

RECIPE FOR MRS. HCB'S MINCEMEAT CAKE

150g Butter or margarine
150g Caster or light brown sugar
2 eggs
225g Self Raising Flour
1lb Jar Mincemeat
Tablespoon Rum or Whisky - or liqueur
and a small glass for yourself if you so desire!

Heat oven to 160 C/140 Fan/Gas 3 - or use a Remoska - but make sure you cover it from the start if you do.
Grease and line an 8" round cake tin or a loaf tin
Place all ingredients in a large bowl and beat well for 1 minute
until well blended
Turn into prepared tin, smooth top and if desired
sprinkle flaked almonds on top (I don't bother!)
(In the absence of any children to help out,  
Lick the spoon if there is any mixture left on it!)
Bake for about 1 hour 45 minutes until golden brown
and shrinking away from sides of tin - check the Resmoska carefully.
Leave to cool in tin, remove paper and store in an airtight tin.
Might last for a week -
but it tastes so good, it doesn't last that long in our house!

P.S. I have just put a shot of the finished cake in as an extra - it smells so good - and I have to say the Remoska saves so much - I have only used my BIG oven once since October 2020 and that was at Christmas to keep things warm.  I do everything in my Remoska.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.