WELCOME TO RUFUS, THE REINDEER

What a lovely surprise I had yesterday when the postman rang our doorbell - he looked rather bemused because he had been to us before, but the name on the package said “Madam Chocolat”!  He laughed when he asked me, “Changed your name then?”  

I then explained that we had friends we visited - and you know who you are - and I always snaffled some of his chocolates, which made the postman smile - I told him that I wouldn’t be eating them until Christmas Day and he just laughed and said as he walked back up the drive “Enjoy them if you can wait that long!”  I did wonder if he could tell by my face that I was a chocoholic!

In fact, the last time we visited our wonderful Blip friends a few weeks ago, who I will call Mr. & Mrs. T. they gave me a large box of Lindt Lindor chocolates and I set myself a challenge not to eat any before Christmas Day;  so far, I can tell you, I have not had one single chocolate!  I have been tempted but have resisted - but then several people have said they will give me £10 and this will go to a Homeless Charity, so I am staying strong because in these present weather conditions, these charities need all the help they can get.

Anyway, I digress - as usual!  When I opened the package, I found this wonderful fluffy reindeer inside a lovely bag, with a penguin on the front and back, along with two chocolates sent by Mr. T.  Not wanting to appear ungrateful, I thought I would have to eat them straightaway, however, there was also a beautiful painting, obviously done by Mr. T with a damselfly - and a note on the back that said “We hope you enjoy these chocolates from Mr. T on Christmas Eve.”  That is certainly something I shall look forward to doing!

I asked Mr. HCB what name we could give this lovely fluffy reindeer and he said that he thought he looked like a “Rufus” so that’s his name!  I liked the name “Romeo” but Mr. HCB reminded me that reindeer fly “over the roofs” on Christmas Eve - so I gave in to him.  Of course, the rest of the Silly Saturday Gang were delighted to have another new member, but realise that he will be very busy over the Christmas period.  Penny Penguin asked if she could be in the photograph today because she thought that the penguin on the bag looked rather like a cousin of hers, Petronella.  How could I refuse?

So that’s the story of the new member of the Gang - what a good job he didn’t eat the chocolates before they arrived - Mr. HCB says we will soon have to get a bigger bag to carry all the members of  the Silly Saturday Gang and perhaps I really need to think of making a book filled with their adventures at least once a week! 

So HUGE THANKS to our lovely Blip friends - what a wonderful community this is - where friendships are made and we look out for one another - so different to many other social network sites.  In fact, only yesterday - the same day as this parcel arrived, another Blip friend rang to find out how I was after my visit to the doctor.  I’m pleased to say after resting and icing my leg twice yesterday, it feels better this morning, but Mr. HCB has said I must still continue to use the walking stick, which I must admit does help.

“Let us remember 
     that the Christmas heart 
          is a giving heart, 
               a wide open heart 
                    that thinks of others first.”
George Matthew Adams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.