War of the Roses - Part 3

And the winner is!!  All of Mum and Dad's rose growing efforts were richly rewarded and this image shows Mum in 1960 with the champion rose in the National Rose Society of Western Australia's Spring Show.  This was just one of many rose shows where Dad would take off the Champion rose and the 12 Distinct.  If you've missed the lead up to my post tonight you can catch up by going to the following links.
War of the Roses Part 1
War of the Roses Part 2
It was a wonderful hobby which I'm sure both of my parents really enjoyed.  There's nothing quite as beautiful as a glorious rose and when the roses were in full bloom it was a sight to behold. 

One of my disappointments in life is that I can never remember enjoying the perfume of a rose.  One of my earliest memories is seeing my Dad launch himself through the roses in our front garden and vaulting over the fence to come to my rescue.  The little boy who lived across the road (who shall remain nameless) had launched a brick and hit me fair and square on my little three year old nose.  Mum and Dad rushed me to Princess Margaret Hospital for children where I underwent surgery.  I have always put my inability to smell down to that awful event. 

This is not quite the end of the War of the Roses and I promise to reveal more in tomorrow's journal.

I just realised I should tag this image for Flower Friday - hope you enjoy the story Anni :)

PS - I think my Mum was really beautiful, no wonder Dad fell in love with her.  But that's another story for another day :) 

PPS - I can't tell you how thrilled I was today when I realised that my little bejewelled flying insects were sitting in the number one spot on the Popular Page.  Who would have thought!!  Thanks to all of you who sent hearts flying their way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.