War of the Roses - Part1

I guess it's fair to say that at this time of the year we tend to be more sentimental as Christmas approaches and spend more time than usual remembering our loved ones.  This week my big brother Al Allan46 sent me through a set of images that brought back wonderful memories for me.  With Big Al's blessing I've decided to share some with you because there's a great story attached to them and over the next few days I will post them and share the story with my blip buddies.  So even though I didn't actually take the images I was definitely playing a role when they were taken.  

My mum and dad both LOVED roses and their humble block in Perth Western Australian was turned into the most magnificent rose garden. Over time Dad planted over 200 rose bushes.  I was always very popular with my teachers because I would often turn up with a glorious bunch of freshly cut roses for them.  Talk about "Teacher's Pet"!!  Well Dad decided he would have a go at entering the roses in the various rose shows around Perth and became really passionate about his new hobby,  so much so that he developed an idea that would ensure his best blooms were protected from the elements.  He designed a wire cone that could move up and down the wooden stake that he positioned next to the new bud.  Mum used to sew calico covers for them as you will see in today's image.   Coming up to the rose shows the garden would be dotted with dozens of the little calico cones and our garden was the talk of the street.  I estimate I would have been 6 or 7 when this photo was taken.
Now I'm not going to tell the whole story tonight, you will have to wait for the next instalment tomorrow :)  Oh yes, there's more!!

Heartfelt thanks to all of my blip buddies who so kindly gave hearts to my blip yesterday.  I have to tell you, I was secretly delighted with this image and couldn't wait to share it on my blip journal.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.