Waving

We're riding along on the crest of a wave,
and the sun is in the sky.
All of our eyes on the distant horizon,
Look out for passers by.
(Scouts version)

A cold but sunny day and we've nipped into Bristol to see the Hokusai exhibition at the Museum. I'm a tad jaded, because I stayed up late last night watching the Geminids. A wonderful star filled sky with the Milky Way fairly clear once the streetlights went out, and I even caught one with the camera. See extra. Not very imposing but better than all the other ones that I thought I'd got until I looked closer, and saw the red and green flashing navigation lights!!!

Walking down to the museum from the Downs, I was caught by the realisation that nearly everyone in Bristol seems now to wear headphones or earbuds. They're either talking on the phone or listening to music, and oblivious to how noisy the city has become, or perhaps always was but I've got used to the countryside. How do you cross a busy road without using your hearing? I think I'd find it quite unnerving.

Well, you can ride on the crest of a wave
If that's where you want to be
But does the look on your face
Mean you're really feeling happy?
(Rory Gallagher version)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.