The second half of life..

By twigs

Taking time to....

.....smell the penstemon.

I had planned to do some much needed gardening today, after I'd removed the plants I want to keep from the area that will, on Monday, be miraculously transformed into a site ready to receive the shed. However, before I even got out into the garden I was invited to go and look at/pick up a storage unit I found locally for a bargain price. (The shed will need something to put 'stuff' on!)

I drove to town and all was good until we tried to drop one of the rear seats of my car to fit the unit in.  The lever to release the seat appeared to be broken and the seat wouldn't budge so there was no way we could fit it in.  Back home to change the car over to the campervan - there'd be no problems fitting it in there!  All good - arrived home with my bargain and my van both intact.

Had done about 10 minutes of gardening when I over-strenuously attacked the digging resulting in me tweaking by back a bit.  Ouch.  The irony is that I have an appointment at the gym tomorrow for an 'evaluation session' before I start on a prescribed get-fit-again programme.  I'm going to look like some sort of work-out avoider when I rock up tomorrow and can't do much! Let's hope a hot shower and a good night's sleep alleviates the pain a bit.

Sooooo.......was about to change the gardening I was doing to something more sedate when B & A called round to pick up some self-seeds I have an abundance of.  After a chat about what I was doing and why and some of the bits I was hoping to tidy up A offered to pop home, get his saw and chop the more difficult bits down for me.  What a star!  Long story short.........the gardening I had planned to do didn't get done but the harder bits I was turning a blind eye to did :)  Yay!  

And now, at 9.45pm, I'm heading to bed to give my back a chance to rest before tomorrow's appointment.  So much for taking time to smell the, umm, penstemon - I feel I've hardly stopped all day - and I've l-o-v-e-d every minute of it :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.