Wishful thinking!!

This is the sight that greeted me when I was making the early morning cup of tea.  This little character was looking longingly at the veggie patch but I'm happy to say the cyclone fence was doing a good job of keeping him well away from the brand new spring onions that you can see just behind the lavender.  Now there's a story behind those spring onions.  They were gifted to me by CCN's dad way back in 2003.  He had brought some down from his garden in Bundaberg and very proudly presented me with a bunch.  Do you know I have never had to buy spring onions ever since.  The same bunch from 15 years ago just keep reinventing themselves.  It's always a thrill to see the new growth come through after I've separated the old ones and replanted them.  The rain over the past few weeks has helped a lot and you can see they are certainly springing out of the ground.  They are the secret ingredient in my Grandad's recipe for scrambled eggs and I know a few of my blip buddies can vouch for Grandad's eggs :)

A little note on my four part War of the Roses.  Yes we did have very understanding neighbours, MOST of the time but we did have to have a curfew on how early we were allowed to head out to start practising in the mornings.  

I also want to mention how proud I was to receive news that on the 12th of October my Big Brother Al received a wonderful award from the Western Australian Tennis Association.  It was the 2018 WA Tennis Industry Award for Service to Tennis.  I know that Al received this great honour from his tennis peers for great service to the game over the past 60 years.    I couldn't help myself, I have added an extra of Al the night he received the award.  I was so happy to see that his passion for the game and the work that he had put into the sport not just as a player but in administration and promotion of the game over all those years was recognised in this way.  Mum and Dad would have been bursting their buttons with pride :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.