Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

#99 Common Gull

An almost windless morning with no rain = perfect birdwatching weather.
We were about to head out to Pennington Flash and whilst I was waiting for hubby to put his shoes on I was watching a squirrel in the garden when I spotted another Sparrowhawk with a kill. Obviously our pigeon bistro is proving irresistible. So we spent the next few minutes watching it pluck the pigeon and devour it. It looked like a pillow had exploded on the lawn. Since I had already used a Sparrowhawk this week, I thought it was a bit early for another one, but there's one in extras if you want to see the mess it created. 
After the drama of the hawk, we then headed over to the flash in search of a new bird - I only have 2 left to get. Lots of the usual little birds at the bunting hide, some lovely goosanders at the Teal hide but no sign of any newbies. Pengys hide gave me what I think might have been a female pochard, but it was too far away for a decent shot. 
One hide left, Horrocks which came up trumps - this gull I am sure is a Common Gull, even though there was only one of them and loads of black headed gulls :)

This evening we went to my parents for our first turkey dinner with the family. It was delicious and we had a really nice time. Then we sat and watched SPOTY and I am pleased to say that my vote counted this year as I voted for the winner - Geraint Thomas - a very worthy winner!! 

I will try and catch up with commenting and finish my backblipping over the next week, but might not get around to going back that far. Will see what time I have. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.