Plus ça change...

By SooB

Grumpy

Cartman has been our traditional tree-topper since 1998 or 1999 (we can’t remember). Good to see him back up there, looking as grumpy as ever at having a tree shoved up his ... t-shirt. We added a new indignity this year with comedy antlers.

Crazy day. Up absurdly early, due to all the stuff whirring around my brain and a cold/ dizziness/sinusitis, saw CarbBoy off the premises then stoically sat to wait until TallGirl’s school office would be open so I could call in sick for her. SickGirl herself showed up, unable to sleep despite looking like the walking dead, and decided to sleep in the living room. (Not a daft idea: the fish tank bubble machine is a very effective white noise machine.) I went back to the spare room.

The Christmas parcels were finally posted with the PO lady assuring me they’d be there on Thursday. Hmmm, I think she hasn’t met UK Christmas post delays... Anyway I wasn’t about to argue as she pulled me to the front of the queue as I had filled in all the paperwork and wrapped my parcels properly. Sometimes it’s helpful to be a girlie swot.

Later, Mr B emerged from a solid 14 hour jet-lag / late night out slumber/snore fest and hit the coffee. Clearly too much, as he then had a migraine and I was his email chimp for the rest of the day. Obviously, after two hours of typing emails from dictation in a dark room, I had a migraine too... So the day was largely written off work-wise for me, but Mr B got through the necessary and, at least for one day, his emails were correctly punctuated.

Even later, dinner was fun, Mr B came up with a scary plan that I’ve been told to reflect on but am actually just going to ignore in the hope that he forgets about it (with the notable exception of Panama, he usually does). CarbBoy had a hornet in his room which means, due to an internal family logic that I cannot understand but have learned not to fight any more, means I’m sleeping in his room.

Still, at least I’m not stuck at the top of a tree with a spiky branch up my t-shirt and fake antlers on my head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.