lovelife209

By mindful_life

Festive drinks

I woke up early this morning for my run, and really enjoyed it. I did some yoga and mindfulness before getting the children up and it really helped again, when faced with my daughter having a meltdown over her parting in her hair, and my son having a tantrum about having to have school dinners today. I remained calm and left the house with them with a balanced mind.

It was the school's music recital. The was an array of guitar solos, violin solos and duets, mass guitar ensembles and various drum solos.  When it was my son's turn on the drums, I was absolutely blown away. Such confidence and competence, he was amazing! all of these moments are so precious and of course I captured it on my phone.  

I headed into work and having not arrived until 11am I stayed on late to make up the time and after work, I took advantage of the fact my children were with my Mum and having dinner at my sister's and popped into town for a quick bit of shopping I needed to get finished.  

Then, I stopped in this lovely little pub for a warm drink before heading home.  It was a lovely quiet place, and you can see I almost had it to myself! It was so festive and full of character.

At home, after dinner, I did some present wrapping with the children. For once I don't have to go out again to pick up anyone from anywhere so I have enjoyed being home for the evening! 

Today's inspiration:

"I will know peace when... I learn to let go.... When a thing has served its divine purpose in your life... it cannot, will not and must not stay in your presence.  If you try to hold on to something that has already fulfilled its purpose in your life, you are going to hurt yourself.  If holding on is disturbing your peace of mind it makes sense to let go....
Until today, you may have been holding on to something or someone, not realising that its purpose in your life has been served. Just for today, surrender all attachments to people and things that you have been struggling to hold on to...." Iyanla Vanzant

I think we all have a tendency to hold on to things in life... but not just physical things and people, experiences too.  We can dwell on things that have happened, look for reasons why we have done things, why we have behaved in certain ways and look for explanations. 

In doing so, by looking too deeply into the past, by not letting go, it will prevent us from living totally in the present.  Being alive in the present moment is all there really is in life.  We can't change the past. Our past will undoubtedly influence our future, by virtue of affecting the decisions we make, but holding onto unhelpful things in our past, will only make our present living unnecessarily burdened.

Be totally present today x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.