Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A day in the woods

We had a bright clear blue sky day today with really great temperatures..about 62F (16C) with plenty of sunshine.  This girl was not staying in the house!    I loaded up some food, both cameras, the dog and went about 30 minutes away to walk at Lynches Wood.  There is a road around the whole property that is about 5 miles but I wandered onto the trails in the woods too and ended up walking about 6 miles. 

  My poor doggie was looking at me like "mom, we have walked way to far and we need to go to the car RIGHT NOW".    She fell asleep in the back seat of the car and slept all the way home.

Needless to say,  when we got home about 3pm, she ate her food, went outside and has been sound asleep on the sofa for 3 hours.   Her old legs just don't do well walking that far.   Especially up and down hills.    I guess I will need to let her stay home next time I walk there.

With all the rain we have had there were plenty of fungi growing along the trail  but these little things were growing in a crack in a dead tree on the ground.  There were probably 200 along the tree but not all of them were in the crack.   There was also lots of green moss and so many ferns down near the creek.

Nature is amazing!!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.