Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Up, Up and Away!!!

Mum and I had planned to go to Cambridge today but as usual there was a change of plan so we went to Ikea and Asda instead.
Ikea first and we raced from the car park to get to the cafe before they stopped serving breakfast. There was a nerve racking wait as the clock ticked down and the queue crawled along. Would we get there before they started serving meatballs?! Would we??????
It was touch and go.
11am came and went; the menu display boards changed from breakfast to main meals.
We got closer and closer..........
Would we make it?
We did. Whoop whoop!!
Sausage, egg, bacon, beans, hash brown and tomatoes. Yes please!!!
And bottomless cups of tea. Lovely!
Once we'd eaten our fill we had a lovely browse and picked up a trolley load of things we needed/wanted/hadn't gone for.
And tealights obviously!!
Then it was to Asda for more of the same.
My mum has never set foot in Asda and loved looking at all the lovely homeware. It's a huge Asda so we were in there for hours too.
There was just time to pop to M&S for a recce of the Christmas food and a quick cup of tea before heading home.
Annoyingly the timing had gone all wrong, we got caught in traffic and my mum needed to get back to Elsie so I had to drive past Miss L's school, past Miss E's school, back to mine for my mum to get her car, back to Miss L's school to get her, back to Miss E's school, to the cafe to get their Friday night smoothies and brownies (which we didn't get because Miss E had a hissy fit about something while they were queuing and I turned tail and went back to the car. With a sulky Miss E and a devastated Miss L. Sigh. Writing this almost a month later I can't remember what it was all about!!!) back home to drop off Miss E with Mr K, down to swimming with Miss L and then home to cook them dinner before it was time to head back to Milton Keynes for Miss E's climbing competition.
Before I dropped her at home Miss E said she didn't want to go - it's being held in a new place and Mr E wasn't going and her anxiety was through the roof. I was knackered, grumpy and past caring so wasn't too bothered whether she went or not.
She tipped me over the edge by insisting I find the new harness I bought her last Christmas. Having shown no interest in it between then and five minutes before I needed to leave for Miss L's swimming. I made a huge show of throwing everything around in the sun room - and out of the sun room - until I found it. Not my finest hour.
When we got back from swimming Miss L said she didn't want to go out which was fair enough so I asked Miss E who she wanted to take her. Naturally she chose Daddy so off they went.
Apparently she almost refused to set foot in the climbing centre - is it definitely on? Is it the right place? Are you sure this is where it is?
Bless her, I wish I could make things easier for her instead of generally making things worse. Sigh.
She did brilliantly!! Whoop whoop!!! Tried hard, kept trying and got good scores. And, most importantly was pleased and proud of herself - for going and for doing well. See extras.
What an exhausting day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.