R.I.P

This afternoon I went out to take a picture for Blip, but my old faithful compact camera stopped working.  It reported a "lens error" and shut down.  It developed a similar problem several years ago, and the repair included a whole new lens unit - not a cheap repair.  Sadly, it is not worth repairing again:  the camera is 7 years old and, even if Canon still have the spare parts, it would be better to put the money that a repair would cost towards a replacement camera.

This will make blipping a lot more difficult for the foreseeable future.  This little camera has been with me every day (unless I've  had a DSLR with me) and is used much more frequently than my DSLR (although overall it has taken rather fewer photographs). 1047 of my 2221 blips to date have been taken on this camera (the remainder on two different DSLRs which I've used in my 6 years of blipping plus mobile phones and a few other random cameras). This time of year is not a good time to try and find the money for a new camera and, in any case, I really don't know what I would buy to replace this one.  I would want something small and pocketable (OK, in a big pocket maybe) but ideally fast in operation like my DSLR. 

Be prepared for a lot of phone blips over the next few weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.