Transitoire

By Transitoire

Fatiguée

Bit of a bitty day to be honest.

After going in early to school to find the teacher I was meant to be working with was actually off sick, and hadn't informed me...my day didn't start on a high! As a good point, I really am getting on well with the second Game of Thrones book as I keep having to read it rather than do a class...and I do like reading for pleasure again. Being an English and French student focussing mainly on literature, the feeling of being able to read for pleasure does dissipate a bit to be completely honest.

Anyway, my first class of the day was with half of the sixième INTER. Again I took the four less able pupils and got to work on the task of the day. They haven't really had much written work recently so I was overviewing the chapters they had read, and teaching them how to reformulate a question into an answer. Harder than it sounds actually. It's really rather difficult to attempt to explain something to pupils when to you it is second nature. However, as usual, we got on very well...as the kids are just adorable, and so willing to try. As a group they achieved a lot more than I thought they were capable of, and therefore didn't have as much homework as I thought I was going to have to set them!

Since I had no other class until three o'clock, I went home and watched Charlie, mon héros (English version: All Dogs Go To Heaven). Decided that Disney in French is definitely my way forward in my quest to become bilingual! After the film and lunch I was back in, and this time with the troisième INTER, and my class with them on my own. After some difficult questions ("Why are we watching a film for children?") I think I've convinced them that the film is an amalgamation of a children's film, and an adult's. Anyway, they laughed at the Wallace and Gromit clip I showed them, so our senses of humour can't be too different?! I hope they won't feel patronised...

After a Skype with my mum (yes, I only spoke to my parents yesterday) to catch up on the days doings, a quick chat on Facebook with a few French friends (really strange having both Facebook and a French-English dictionary up!), I managed to finally catch up with Andy on the weeks doings. It struck me that I get to see him now in just over a week. I cannot wait to show him Caen.

The image doesn't really sum up my day...it's just the best I could do quite late at night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.