Life through the lens...

By ValC

I’ll tell you what I want,

What I really really want for Christmas, and this is it!

Just need a music room large enough, and £8995.00.
It how fabulous.
These Jukeboxes play vinyl.
Handmade in Leeds. The only manufacturer in the world producing vinyl playing Jukeboxes.
The company, Soundleisure, was started by Alan Black and Edward Moss in 1978.
Now it is run by Alan’s sons, Christopher and Michael.
It was wonderful to see their “ Pop Up” shop in the New Victoria Centre.
They were given the space for 10 weeks free, as the landlords didn’t want to see any shops empty, and wanted to help a local Leeds based company.
Mr C knew the company back in the early 90’s
and it was so nice to see how the company had grown. They now employ 110.

The real reason for our trip to Leeds was actually to go once again to The Lord Mayor’s Carol Concert at the Town Hall.
Started off with a warming glass of mulled wine in The Art. Cafe.
Then a walk round the Victoria Arcades, a visit to the German Market.

As always the concert was magnificent.
Rothwell Temperance Band provided the music, with Darius Battiwalla on the organ.
The singing was led by the Leeds Philharmonic Chorus.
We all joined in the carols which included.
The First Nowell
Once in Royal David’s City
Hark the herald-angels sing.

For me the highlight, which brought a tear to my eye, was the carol , Away in a manger, sung by the Choir to a beautiful arrangement by Joseph Judge.
What made it special though was a sweet little voice behind me which sang along with the choir.
A lovely little 4 year old girl had learnt it at school, and just naturally sang along.
A magical moment, and I thanked her afterwards.

Second extra you will see I have sprouted antlers. Also have a red nose to go with them.
I am coughing and spluttering at the moment, and my nose is red with blowing it so much!

Christmas Cracker Advent Joke No 20

I never made it to the top of Everest, my guide kept getting stressed.
You can’t do much when your Sherpa’s tensing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.