Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Here I am again!

Here I am again
with Christmas decorations
Candy canes for all!

Now you can see that yesterday's abstract is a heart-shaped vase. No flowers on my balcony are tall enough to decorate the vase, so I attached the candy cane instead as I wanted some colour!

I was interested to find the origin of candy canes, originally called peppermint sticks, and found this:

"The pulled sugar stick likely originated in Europe around the 1500s, where it was enjoyed as a treat. In the 1600s, Germans added a hook to the top, making it the candy cane. The stripe came in the mid-1800s, as marketing-savvy was gaining momentum – for an especially festive flourish."
Here is the link:http://www.truetreatscandy.com/product/peppermint-stick/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.