Do Mushrooms Count?

Today is the first day of winter and the shortest day of the year. I thought these mushrooms were  an appropriate 'flower'. Sorry, Biker Bear. I understand if you decide it's not a flower, but it does grow out of the ground and 'bloom' rather like a flower. Sunrise here was at 7:20am and sunset will be at 4:58pm. The good news is that the days will now begin getting longer.

It seems that someone has discovered that we have rods (or was it cones?) that have nothing to do with vision. Initially the theory was that they had something to do with synchronizing our visual brains with the changing time, but a new theory says that they actually are the reason why we need daylight to maintain our positive outlook on life. I never thought about what causes depression when the number of hours of daylight gets shorter, but I certainly know from personal experience that it is true.

After a week of cloudy skies and rain the sun came out this afternoon transforming the garden to a place worth venturing into. I sat on the steps and watched the birds going about their business at the feeders seemingly oblivious to my presence just a few feet away. but the moment I raised my camera they were gone.

Today is solstice
The shortest day of the year.
Birds are ravenous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.