SILLY SATURDAY - EARLY CHRISTMAS PRESENTS

Last Monday our daughter-in-law, Amanda, came over with her husband, Sean, and we exchanged Christmas presents.  I asked if we were opening them as it wasn’t really Christmas but they both said, “Of course!” so we did.  Amanda works as a carer and will be working on both Christmas and Boxing Day, and Sean will be working on Boxing Day so it seemed most sensible to meet before Christmas.  

Amanda knows I love Brussel sprouts - I wonder if they will still be called that after BREXIT? - so I was amused by the card she gave us, which you will see in my photograph for today.  

They also bought me this great book by Gyles Brandreth “Have You Eaten Grandma?” with the sub-title “Or, the life-saving importance of correct punctuation, grammar, and good English” because she knows I am very hot on punctuation and grammar and of course, I am the “Queen of Exclamation Marks”!!!

For many years at Christmas I have bought Amanda a very large jar of Marmite, but only gave her a small one this year and wrote on the label “Times are hard” so she thought that was it.  However, when she opened her other present, she found a bigger jar in the bottom of the box - so she was delighted, as our grandson had been very upset earlier in the week when he told her they had run out of Marmite.  She told him he had no need to worry because “Grandma Mo always gives us a big jar at Christmas” so I think she was rather disappointed at first just to see the small jar.  I did take a photograph of her holding both jars - see extra - and sent it to our grandson, telling him that his Mum was happy - and he text back to say he was too!

In case you are wondering, Sean didn't go home empty-handed, or should that be empty-footed - because I did buy him six pairs of socks - and they weren't any old socks, they were socks from North Wales.  Since he has known Amanda it has become a standing joke that I always buy him socks, but as we have agreed not to buy Christmas presents next year, perhaps I need to buy him socks for his birthday instead!

So a Silly Saturday shot - and you may wonder why I have included the Advent Calendar - I have to say that I might consider taking it back to Waitrose because it did not last as long as it should have done - in fact, all the doors were opened by 12th December - well I could hardly open just one door when Mr. HCB was there as well, could I?  Perhaps I should have bought two after all!

A silly quote to finish with on this last Silly Saturday before Christmas:

“I’m dreaming of a White Christmas
     but if the white runs out,
          I’ll drink the red!”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.