FLOWER FRIDAY AND ANOTHER BUSY DAY!

Mr. HCB wanted to go down to Morrisons this morning, which isn’t very far from where we live, but we were surprised to see how much traffic there was about - the “world and his wife” were on the roads.

Before that we needed to go and collect an “International parcel” that couldn’t be delivered yesterday because it needed a signature so as the Sorting Office is in the same direction, we went there first.  

Correction to the above, “the world and his wife and children” were at the Sorting Office, trying to collect parcels!  There were cars and people everywhere, but fortunately, it wasn’t raining, so even though we had to stand outside in a very long queue, it was fairly pleasant and I had people either side who were happy to chat.  The man in front of me said it was almost pleasant waiting as everyone was so friendly!  

The parcel was duly collected and I could see that it was from a fellow Blipper - you know who you are - but of course, we still had shopping to do, so Mr. HCB put the parcel in the boot.  

Morrisons was manic - but as one lady said to me, as our trolleys brushed past each other and gently collided, “I don’t know why we are panicking so much, after all, they are open again on Boxing Day!”  I think that comment says it all - we have become a nation of panic buyers, who think that if the shops are closed for just one day, we will die of starvation!

We didn’t need to buy very much, so it didn’t take too long and I managed to give away two hearts - one to the cashier and one to the lady in the queue behind us, as she was very pleasant.  Both seemed very happy to receive them.  

I also saw Craig, whose photograph I blipped on the 14th December and when I showed him my Blip for that day, he even gave me a hug.  There are some lovely people about, but equally so, there are some “Bah Humbug” people too, but the lovely ones outnumber those, thankfully.  

When we got home, and had put the shopping away, I opened the parcel only to find two presents wrapped in pink “birthday” paper, so of course, Mr. HCB snatched them from under my nose and took them upstairs to his secret stash.  I’m sure other Blippers with birthdays around this time will know what I mean.

I therefore had to go in search of a flower, and found the last rose blowing in the wind in the garden.  I decided to leave it on the bush as I didn’t think it would last long if I brought it indoors anyway.  I then played around with my Mobile Monet app because it didn’t really look that good - I doubt I would either if I had been blown around like that all night and all morning!

Hope everyone has a great weekend - we will definitely not be doing any more shopping - so what we haven’t got now, will stay on the shelves but I’m sure we won’t starve.

“For Christmas this year, 
     try giving less. 
          Start with less attitude. 
There’s more than enough of that 
     in the world as it is – 
          and people will usually just 
               give it back anyway!”
Anne Bristow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.