Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

A letter to Vanessa

[This is a back-blip, from Saturday, December 1, 2012 - I appear to be slipping deeper and deeper into photographic debt.]

Dear Vanessa ~ I hope you read this blip, but it's alright if you don't. My mind is still reviewing our Saturday reunion, frame by frame. It felt so good to see you again. And I think I must feel even prouder than you are of David. What an outstandingly strong, confident, articulate, and talented young man he is. Do you remember his first baby stroller? Did I ever tell you that I got the exact same stroller for Tai, based on the one you bought for David? I loved how lightweight and compact it was - easy to fold with one hand while carrying a baby in the other. How practical we were!

We've both traveled a long, long way now from Fire Fighting School (yes, folks, you read that right). I wish we could have been closer traveling companions to each other for more of our life journeys, but I'm grateful to know that time and distance have not tarnished our friendship. You've got my number, and I have yours! I know we'll stay in touch.

Addendum:
These beautiful mossy branches pictured were the predominant scenery in the Dungeness National Wildlife Refuge, in Sequim, WA. Had the weather been more agreeable, Richard and I might have explored this beautiful area with its trails, and birds, and new Dungeness Spit Lighthouse, more closely. (Alas, I do not know the name of the tree and foliage picture here - anybody?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.