Vertically Challenged

We got the tree up late yesterday, but with dinner at my in-laws followed by a Christmas concert, we didn't get a chance to decorate until today. We dug out the lights and the box of ornaments the moment she came home from school. When I told her that I had to put the lights on the tree first, she surprised me by saying, "I'll let you do that, mom." It's not my favorite task, but it's also one done best without "help." So I said, "Great. Then you can be in charge of the ornaments."

I thought I'd let her do it completely alone -- she is, after all, seven now. I came back into the living room 10 minutes later to see about two dozen ornaments clumped together on one side of the tree, all between three and four feet from the ground. I told her that we need to spread the good cheer over the rest of the tree.

The ornaments are now (more or less) placed around the circumference of the tree, all between three and four feet from the ground. Against my strong desire to redistribute them vertically, I've decided to just let them be. Adults will just have to enjoy our tree this year from a sitting position.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.