Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

A fishy tale

A very kind friend asked me round for lunch - she has quite a large aquarium, so I decided to try photographing some of the fish. They are about as difficult to photograph as small birds - they never stop moving. I needed to put the camera on a tripod and wait for one to come into the picture, but the speed of movement meant that the hit rate was less than 5%, and focus was a problem too (I used manual focus and just hoped the DoF would be adequate). Then there is the problem of photographing through the tank sides - reflections were unexpectedly not a problem, but the inside of the 'glass' has some marks and scratches. This was the only photo I got which I could even consider posting. The one larger fish in the collection, which was also much less active, refused to pose for me.

It was a fish lunch - but not one of the fish from the aquarium - I remember being rather horrified on my first visit to Hong Kong when we were invited to point at which fish in a tank we wanted to eat for our evening meal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.