Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Baking, Day 2

When I make spritz with the cookie press it always reminds me of making Christmas cookies with my mom and grandmother.  My uncles and grandfather loved these cookies because they liked to dunk them in their coffee.  It was actually more than dunking.  They would put the whole cookie (or two) in their cup and eat it with a spoon when it got soft.  I haven't thought of that in years but I can still see them doing it.  I love the memories that Christmas brings.  :-)

Before the cookies I also baked a cake.  I was really on a roll and might have kept going but I ran out of butter.  I forgot how much is in the spritz!!  After that I cooked a pork loin that will be cut into small cubes and added to the Chinese Rice that we are bringing to Christmas Day dinner at Becky's in-laws' house.  Tomorrow night Becky and Darrin will come here for dinner and opening our gifts to each other.  Of course, there will be gifts for Thor and Piper too!

I am grateful that I'm caught up with everything else so I could relax & enjoy these days in the kitchen.  I probably won't have any time to spend on Blip tomorrow or Tuesday so now is the time to wish a very Merry Christmas to those who celebrate and a happy week to those who don't! xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.