Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Tom('s) presents

three wonderful books
all of them photography-based
they know me so well

On the right, Julie's present to me. I'd been wanting to read this novel by William Boyd for years. And I've already read more than 200 pages of it, all of them on Christmas Day.

The other two are from my father-in-law: he asked me what I wanted for Christmas and I told him about Après Gerda but he didn't stop there and found Susana Fortes' En attendant Robert Capa (Waiting for Robert Capa)... Two very different periods of the photographer's life, as Fortes' book concentrates on the time when Capa was still Endre Friedmann, the moment when Gerda Taro and he met in Budapest and then decided to go to Spain to photograph the Civil War there together. A summary of the book here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.