ANOTHER BIRTHDAY!

Mr. HCB isn’t keen on shopping, so we never go to the shops on Boxing Day, which just happens to be my birthday.  For the last couple of years we have been out for a walk and then gone into a local hotel, Stanton House, for coffee and sometimes a cake or an Afternoon Tea, even though it’s in the morning, which we have enjoyed.

As usual, I opened most of my birthday cards just after midnight, but this year, for some reason, opened them whilst sitting on our bed - a big mistake - several cards had those tiny little hearts inside so the bed was covered and they stuck not only to the sheets, but also to my nightdress and Mr. HCB’s skin!  Thank you to those who “got me back” - because I love to put “sprinkles” inside cards - it makes opening them so much more fun.

I never thought anything of it when Mr. HCB was chivvying me along and saying that we needed to go out for a walk and perhaps have our coffee by 10.30 ish, so that’s what we did - we went out to Stanton Park and had a good wander around, but it was very muddy and we only had ordinary shoes on, so didn’t go too far.  

Then we went into the conservatory to have a coffee.  I happened to see that one of the tables was reserved, but didn’t think it might be for us as there were three places set.  Mr. HCB went to find a waitress who said that the reserved table was for us and we could have anything off the menu, courtesy of some friends.  How kind!  We decided not to have an Afternoon Tea, but had a steak ciabatta roll with salad and chips, which was delicious and should keep us going until our family comes over this evening. 

The garden at Stanton House was looking quite bare, as it would in the depths of winter, but I did find a little Christmas Rose or Hellebore.  

I hope everyone has had a great Christmas - I’m having a wonderful birthday with lots of cards and presents - and even had an early morning call from our son in Vietnam - he doesn’t “do” cards!  

Loved the birthday card that says:

“You’ve reached the WONDER years…..
     Wonder where your glasses are…..
          Wonder what day it is!"

And also the one, from a Blip friend, who works for an airline, that says:

“Another year has flown by!
     And your birthday is scheduled
          for an on-time arrival.
So fasten your seatbelt, 
     you’re in for a wild ride!”

She wrote in the card "I know every day is a wild ride for you - in a good, fun way!” - long may every day continue to be so!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.