ANOTHER BIRTHDAY!

We had a great time with our family yesterday, but I felt a little off-colour as the evening wore on (this virus is taking much longer to go than I would have liked!) so told Mr. HCB that I didn’t think we would go out today, despite it being my birthday.  

However, he persuaded me that as the sun was shining, perhaps we should just go over to Stanton House Hotel and have a wander around and a coffee and then perhaps I would feel better, so after I had opened a few cards and presents, off we went.

When we got there we said it was my birthday but that I just wanted some coffee and toast and within a few minutes it arrived, complete with birthday candle and the lovely waiter and waitress sang “Happy Birthday” to me.

We went into the conservatory at the hotel when someone who was also there having coffee, stood up and said “Hello Maureen!”  It was Marilyn, a lady whose husband, John, had worked with Mr. HCB before he retired and who we had got to know after going to the various company events.  Sadly her husband died fifteen years ago, but we have still seen Marilyn from time to time - so it was good to see her and her family;  we have now exchanged telephone numbers, so we will be in touch in the New Year when I’m sure that coffee and cake will be on the cards!

Interestingly, when her son and daughter-in-law and their little girl went out for a walk, Marilyn reminded me that 8 years ago we had prayed for her daughter-in-law, who had had a brain tumour, and who was very ill at the time, but after an operation, she was fine now - what a wonderful answer to prayer and it was lovely to see her too.  Speaking to Paul, Marilyn’s son, it was interesting to hear that he knew people we knew - it is such a small world!

The collage shows some of my birthday cards - many of them with humorous messages - Mr. HCB and me with my toast, complete with candle and a photograph that the receptionist at the hotel took of us all together.

Our son and his family will be coming over later, so I am going to rest this afternoon, so that I am ready to play games this evening.

Here are three quotes from some of my birthday cards, which I specially liked:

“The best anti-ageing product is ice cream…..
     what other CREAM makes you feel like a 7 year old?”

“Life’s too short to be sensible
     all the time!”

“Well behaved Women seldom make History”
     Inside the card it said “Make some history!” 

Do you know, I might just to do that!!

P.S.  Didn't manage to speak to our son in Vietnam yesterday, but he rang this morning, which was great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.