WHAT A SURPRISE!

We had a lovely evening of food and fun when our family came over last night to help celebrate my birthday, but I was rather tired so slept late this morning.

When I drew back the curtains, I was very surprised to see that we had had a sprinkling of snow - not that much, but it was obviously very cold.

Mr. HCB told me that he had got up at 7.00 a.m. hoping to watch some cricket from Australia, but unfortunately, by the time he switched on the television, the day’s play was over.  He was quite pleased because England are doing better than they have in previous games, but he says there is a long way to go!

After I had showered, I came down to sit in the conservatory and wait for the birds to come in and feed.  There were quite a few in the trees and I spied this little Gold Finch on one of the feeders.  They often stay for sometime as the sunflower hearts are easy for them to eat, but this one didn’t stay long this morning - perhaps he was taking what was in his mouth back to the wife!

A restful day for us, eating the leftovers, catching up with the programmes we have recorded and generally enjoying the peace and quiet with perhaps a few chocolates and a cup of coffee or something stronger, now and again.

Thank you all very much for your kind comments, stars, hearts and good wishes for my birthday - which were all very much appreciated.  

“God gives every bird its food,
     but He does not throw it
          into its nest.”
Josiah Gilbert Holland

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.