BIRTHDAY TEA IN THE MORNING!

I had opened my birthday cards just after midnight, so as it was such a beautiful morning, we decided to head off to Burford to go and have coffee and cake in the little café we found last year.

When we got to Burford, we found a parking spot very easily, but were very surprised to see that it was deserted and hardly any shops were open - the little café was closed and according to the lady in the newsagents, had been closed for sometime.

We decided to come back home, but as we were going through Highworth, I mentioned to Mr. HCB that I wondered if Stanton House was open.  This is a beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds next to Stanton Park.  He went in, mentioned that it was my birthday and wondered if they were open for non-residents.  He was told they were, so he came back to the car to tell me.

We had a lovely cream tea - the first one I have ever had at 11 a.m. - and the waiter had even put birthday candles on two of the cakes.  The ladies at the next table wished me a Happy Birthday and we then heard the same waiter wish another lady a Happy Birthday, so as we left, we went to have a word with her.  

What could have been a disappointing morning turned out very well - so thank you to the lovely waiter and also to Mr. HCB - apologies for not getting him completely in the photograph - I need to practise more with my new camera!

Home now and about to open presents - and the sun is still shining brightly.

Birthdays are good for you - 
     the more you have,
          the longer you live!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.