BUSY BIRTHDAY IN BURFORD

Today I am celebrating the 49th anniversary of my 21st birthday - and so far it has been excellent.  I have had lots of messages, emails, phone calls, cards and presents and actually am overwhelmed by all the love and good wishes sent to me.

I didn’t think we would be going out, as Mr. HCB seems to have caught my cold and feels a little “under the weather” but he insisted we did as we had planned, so off we went to Burford, a small town in the Cotswolds.

We stopped for a coffee at Maison Blanc - we thought the cakes were much too expensive, even for a big birthday, so here I am enjoying a wonderful cappucino.  The Post-it notes on the right were in a card from a fellow blipper, Yvonne - she knows I am the Post-It Queen, and I absolutely loved this - so cleverly done!

The pub we have visited for the last couple of years appears to have changed hands and they no longer do Ham, Egg and Chips, so we went over the road to The Mermaid and had it instead.  It was very tasty but as there is a limited menu, there were no desserts, so we went for a walk instead and then I came home and ate lots of chocolates! Well it would be rude not to on your birthday, wouldn’t it?  

Now I have to try and make room for all my cards - and tidy the room before our family arrives for a games evening - not sure they will notice if it’s not that tidy, so maybe I will just sit and chill out, read the paper and have a few more chocolates - after all, it is a special day and I am reliably informed there are no calories in anything on your actual birthday!  Time will tell when I get on the scales but think I might leave that until 2016!

Hope you’ve all had a wonderful Christmas so far - and that as this old year closes and a New Year starts, you will be truly blessed.

"The secret of genius 
     is to carry 
          the spirit of the child 
into old age, 
     which means never losing 
          your enthusiasm."
Aldous Huxley

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.