Help Is On The Way!

This Canada goose has a broken leg.   I called the wildlife rescue folks and they'll be here tomorrow to pick her up and take her to their rehabilitation center.  I've been feeding her for the last couple days to keep her close so she'll be easy to catch.  Today she hopped up on my back porch where I put some food and I think she would have come into the house if I had let her.   I'm getting pretty good at keeping the other geese away from her while she eats, so she comes right up to me and even lets me touch her. I'd like to think she understands what I'm trying to do to help.  She also hisses at me but I'm sure it's a grateful hiss.  As soon as I see her in the morning I'll put food out for her and call the rescue folks to tell them she's ready to go.  When I called today they asked me if I could put a large container of some sort over her to keep her in place but I had my doubts about that.  I'd rather let her in the house and worry about the cleanup later. (I don't think I really mean that but if it's the only way.....) I'm hoping she'll be easy for them to catch.  I'll let you know tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.