Learning to Skate

Dear Diary,

Stopped by my pond and finally saw some people enjoying the perfect ice.  In all the years (nearly 24) that I've lived here I've seen plenty of ice fishers but never skaters.  There was a Mennonite family out enjoying the beautiful day.  The little boy was using a chair to help hold himself upright as he skated.  I remember as a little girl doing the exact same thing.  The young girl would skate behind him and then he'd take a seat and she would push him back.  I so enjoyed watching them.

As children, we would go to a neighbor's house to skate on their little pond/wet land behind the house.  Mr. Manter even installed a flood light so we could skate after it got dark.  What fun we had.  I was never great at it, weak ankles, but I loved gliding along on the ice.  It felt like flying!  I still have my skates hanging in the barn and every time I see them I flashback.  Another material memory...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.