Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Speed matching a new locomotive

Today I took a break from applying shingles in S scale, and took a look at my Christmas present.  A new N scale Union Pacific Kato SD70ACe done up in the newest UP colors honoring all those that have served.  Since my brother and I did serve, I felt like I should run one of these as well.

This is my test track - a loop with straights of Kato Unitrack.   It is temporarily hooked up to the DCC system via the wires at the right.  The box on the other side is a speedometer set for N scale.  This way I can adjust the speed of the locomotive at start moving, top speed, and mid speed.  I like to set everything I own at 80 MPH max, 40 MPH at midspeed, and 1 MPH at start if possible.  This way I can consist several locomotives as here and have them all run at the same speed - like real life - on one address.  This is called advanced consisting.  Actually super simple to do on the NCE DCC system.

One last thing - the new loco comes from the factory with full ESU sound.  Impressive in a small locomotive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.