Soldiering On

There are still quite a few African daisies blooming behind the wall by the driveway, but for some reason this one appealed to me. Perhaps because I know the feeling. The one purple petal shows determination and even the dying and curled ones demonstrate dignity rather than collapse.  I suspect I'm not the only one who skipped class this morning for no reason other than just not wanting to get up. I haven't seen a soul today apart from  Oilman and the FedEx man delivering our Blue Apron meal. I wonder who's going to cook it?

Oilman took himself off to his doctor's this morning to check our drug store blood pressure monitor against his. It seems that ours is reading high, which should make me happy, but mainly just makes me more confused. It seems to me that there are far more variables than are recognized in people  and their blood pressures, and throwing in a faulty monitor on top of everything else just muddies the already opaque waters.  My readings are all over the place no matter who takes them.  I wonder who  checks the doctors' monitors?

I have almost finished reading a most fascinating book called  Wild Trees by Richard Preston. It's about the people who climb really enormous sequoia trees to study the canopy. It is amazing to read about what goes on up there three hundred feet above the ground. Did you know that there is enough canopy soil for entire trees of a different species to grow up there? And what kind of person devotes an entire lifetime to climbing trees as tall as a skyscraper? It's a fascinating read....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.