Day 3 - Goose Rescue

Well, let me tell you -- geese are crafty critters.  

A number of attempts were made today to catch the injured goose but she outsmarted them all.  Animal Rescue sent a really, really nice lady out to catch the goose and she made a valiant attempt but the goose won.  All in all, it has been decided to keep feeding her and get her used to me in particular so that she'll hang around my back door.  If possible, and if I can get her to cooperate (ha!), I am to put a blanket over her and somehow get her into a carrier the rescue folks left.   

I know, I found that funny too.  I'm willing to bet the odds are in favor of the goose.  Somehow pitting a  fairly healthy, 25+ pound wing-flapping, hissing goose against a 78 year-old human with a bad hip seems less than logical.  This whole goose rescue thing is beginning to sound like something that will keep me up at nights.

  Believe it or not, I'm willing to try so I've had instructions on how to "just toss a blanket over the goose and she'll quiet right down".  Really?  After she kills me, sure.  Since she already practically comes in the door, I'm thinking my best bet will be to lure her inside and then lock her in the bathroom until someone can come get her.  I may have to re-think that one.  If I keep at this long enough we'll probably become good friends and can sit on the couch together eating popcorn and watching a movie.  

At any rate, Miss Goose is eating and can move around pretty well.  She can fly and get in and out of the water.  She also has two friends who are keeping her company.  Rescue personnel continue on stand-by status but since we're coming into a holiday weekend, we may just feed and watch until the full complement of folks is available.  In the meantime, I'm going to find out which movie she'd like to watch.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.