An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Another reptile encounter...

This photograph is VERY heavily cropped - I was not standing this close to it! (I'm not going to endanger my life for the sake of a blip!) I was standing the recommended safe distance of 3 metres away, on top of an old upturned water trough at the bottom of 'snake hill' (also wearing long wellies and with my phone on me, just in case!)

This is 'my' Eastern Brown snake, who, now that I know it lives here, I seem to be able to find snoozing in the sun in roughly the same spot every day. Today is cold and windy and it's been raining, so it was probably trying to warm itself up in a brief spell of sunshine. I would definitely keep well away from it's home on a hot day, as it's much more likely to be active and aggressive if approached.

Bigger snake

A bit about brown snakes: it is the species responsible for most deaths caused by snakebite in Australia, although, with the advent of efficient first-aid treatment and antivenom, there are now usually only one or two deaths per year. A large adult brown snake is a formidable creature. They may exceed two metres in length and, on hot days, can move at surprising speed. It has a slender body and is variable in colour ranging from uniform tan to grey or dark brown. The belly is cream, yellow or pale orange with darker orange spots.

It inhabits a wide range of habitats but is particularly prevalent in open grasslands, pastures and woodland. It feeds mostly on small mammals, particularly rodents.

Although brown snakes are temperamental and dangerous creatures, they will always try and avoid a confrontation with humans if possible. There is certainly no advantage for the snake in attacking something as large as a person so they will only do this as a last resort. Given the opportunity, even brown snakes will flee rather than attack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.