An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Shiny beetle

I think it might be a green scarab beetle, but then again it could just as easily not be. There are so many beetles, it's hard to identify them unless they have some very distinctive feature ('shiny and green' isn't distinctive in the beetle world).

This little beetle was sitting on the bark of an oak tree, which was too dark to photograph without a tripod, and as the beetle wasn't doing much other than waving it's antennae around a lot, I had time to go and get my tripod and mess about with that. The 1600 ISO was a mistake - I thought I'd set it on 200, but I got the next setting along, which is Auto.

It's our school Christmas Concert tonight, so this is an early blip.

See the iridescence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.