An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

I remember him...

The man I married who used to wear a suit.  

In fact we realised today that up until he took early retirement in March 2017, D had worn a suit almost every day for over thirty years!  Today he's wondering how he ever managed it!

Of course it doesn't help that since his retirement he's become cake-shaped.  This suit was bought six months before he retired and it had some give in it.  Today I advised him best to leave the jacket unbuttoned :-))  And I suspect the trouser button would be unfastened behind his belt before he even reached the end of our road.  Contentment comes at a price :-))

I also realised today that I miss seeing him in a suit but it's a weddings and funerals uniform now so hoping it doesn't have to come out of the wardrobe too often (unless for a wedding of course :-)

Talking of weddings, by all accounts todays nuptials have gone well.  The service was lovely, the Groom's speech was funny but sincere and touching and the bride beautiful (some rubbish quality phone pics that he sent me in extras.)  I think there will be a few sore heads tomorrow.

By comparison, I have had a very lazy day and it's just what I needed.  Didn't sleep too well last night but had a lovely snooze this afternoon and woke up feeling a bit brighter.  Hoping a good sleep tonight will give me a boost as tomorrow is a cooking day in preparation for Hogmanay and New Year's Day celebrations.  Can't quite believe we are nearly at the end of 2018 already! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.