An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

I just know that something good is gonna happen...

Our friends Dave and Kirsty get married tomorrow.  

I have been looking forward to the wedding since this time last year when they first asked us to save the date, but at 5.30 this morning, as I sat on the edge of the bed cough, cough, coughing and coughing some more, the realisation dawned that I really am not well enough to go.  Cue early morning tears.

That said, although I am upset at missing the wedding, the realisation also brought some relief, as apart from my energy levels being low, I have also been worrying about getting through the wedding ceremony without having a coughing fit.  That would be awful.  David is still going to go as I would feel even worse if he didn't.  The group we were going with are among our oldest friends so he won't feel like a gooseberry without me.

So today I have just been taking things easy.  The increased usage of the inhaler is certainly helping and my coughing fits are shorter and there are longer gaps between them so I am hoping that I will feeling much better by the time our next social event (Hogmanay) rolls around.  Everything is organised for that so I can relax and not worry about it till Monday.

David will leave to go to the wedding at midday tomorrow and won't be back till Sunday afternoon as he's staying at Ele's (the wedding is in Glasgow so she had kindly offered us a room for the night and Kenny to run us to the wedding and pick us up at the end) so that arrangement still stands.

My plans for tomorrow consist of nothing other than listening to my Kate Bush remastered cds (I am working my way through chronologically.  So far I have listened to The Kick Inside and the difference is amazing.  It all sounds so bright and clear) and starting to read Michelle Obama's book.  

Today's blip is a Christmas present, which is a necklace bought from Kate's Christmas pop up shop that appeared in London's King's Cross in December, to help raise funds for Crisis, a charity helping homeless people in the UK.  Other items were also purchased but they're being kept as birthday gifts I believe :-)

So although I am sad at missing Dave and Kirsty's special day, I will be spending my time with the wonderful Kate and as ever with her, I just know that something good is gonna happen....

With all this talk of weddings, I can't let today go past without mentioning this would have been my gran and Grandpa's 80th Wedding Anniversary.  What a different world it was the day they got married, compared to David and Kirsty facing there nuptials tomorrow.  


Having said that,  I am struck by the scary thought that when my grandparents got married, Europe was becoming more and more unsettled and soon world war would once again be raging.  We were supposed to learn from that and never take peace for granted again but alas it seems to me we have forgotten.  Eighty years may have passed, but unsettled times are upon us once again.  


That aside, Happy Anniversary Gran and Grandpa.  Wherever you are, I hope you are together.  The love you shared, death could never destroy.  Love and think about you every day xxx


Wedding photograph <3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.