Red Bellied Woodpecker

Another gray and dismal day, so I didn't do much of anything. I was sitting on the couch when I saw this woodpecker land on the outside of my squirrel-proof bird feeder. There's no way a bird this size could get through the little metal openings to get to the seed.....but it sure tried!! I ran for the camera and got a couple of shots of it on the feeder, which I've put in the extras--only because I still have 24 extras left so I might as well use a couple. I felt bad, as I usually have a separate feeder filled with non salted peanuts for the downy woodpecker who's here a lot, but the feeder's been empty for awhile & I keep forgetting to buy more peanuts!   This is the first time I've see the red bellied woodpecker here, so I'd best put getting more peanuts on tomorrow's "to do" list if I want to keep it happy! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.