Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

This old house

We passed this house on the way to walk at a nature preserve in Augusta, Georgia which is only an hour away.   It was not exactly falling down but was still looked pretty derelict.  I am sure it was a beauty long ago.

We walked at one location around a pond that was on the way that was actually a climb over the fence place in the national forest.  I guess it was closed because of the government shutdown.    Then we had some lunch before heading over to the nature preserve where we walked about 5 miles around ponds and swamps.   I did see several egrets, cormorants, ducks, a hawk and an ibis.     Got photos but did not have the best lens for long distance.     It was a really nice place but I don't think I would go back during the warmer weather as there is no shade...and I saw three snakes!    Several of the boardwalks in the swamp areas were under water from recent rains so we did do a bit of backtracking which added to our miles.

It was a perfect day for walking though, partly sunny and 70F!    Almost too warm in the sun with long sleeves on!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.