Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

3K Condolessance

Today our dearest friend had her Orthodox funeral service here in town at the graveyard's church where her man and children and their spouses stood 3 hours next to her open coffin to receive the respects and condolessance of all who turned up... some 3000 people I reckon. We shared tears and hugs and heard the priest bless her soul and ask to open the doors of heaven for Ingemaj.
It was a beautiful service and nice to see that the flowers I'd ordered in the name of us 5, her initial friends here in Chania, stood next to the entrance of the church and another of the Finnish Embassy in Athens.
Her funeral will happen in Finland, from where she originates, so the pain of saying goodbyes to her continue for her man and children... they're heartbroken and I wish them strength. I'lll see them soon when back from this final trip of her to Finland.

backblip... and thank you so much for your lovely words of recent!
Enjoy the final days of 2018!!
this foto is an older one, of a Byzantine church we'd visited with my friend then too, I think it's right for today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.