Not Open Anytime Soon

I called the breakdown service this morning and they turned up about an hour after I phoned…

Diagnosed a faulty battery (car started ok on a jump pack). The alternator was delivering a healthy charge. He had a direct replacement in the van - but he could not release the old one as the clamp holding it down had corroded! So no immediate fix.

I left the engine running and looked around online - and Kwik-Fit had a slot available at early afternoon so I booked and paid for it and headed off into Leeds. I have never seen Kwik-Fit so deserted - the mechanics were sitting around twiddling their thumbs. I arrived early and they jumped at the chance to do something.

Somehow they released the battery - but not by undoing the corroded clamp - they had to cut a bit of the battery cover away.  Anyway the new one is fitted (and I am £100 poorer). I have to try and find a replacement clamp (or clean up the old one) as the battery is not tethered at the moment (an MOT failure item).

On the way home I stopped to photograph this old red bus which for years has been a roadside cafe (on the A64 just outside Leeds). It is up for sale - the last owners had not been running it long. I guess it doesn’t make enough money. Ideal for Derelict Sunday - I think it is Sunday, isn’t it? Thanks to Marlieske for hosting

Took Finlay out for his walk when I got back, he is now snoring away on his bed…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.