oot and aboot

On my walk today I saw a few more birds - a dipper (first I heard it singing and then there it was on a stone in the middle of the burn. sometimes they walk right down into the water looking for food), a noisy jay, a red kite. I found some interesting fungi (that in the photo was on a silver birch - I'm rubbish at identifying fungi but maybe some Blipper will know its name). The strangest of all my wildlife sightings today, however, was not in the countryside but in Dumfries. I was coming back from a party (thank you Alison!) and just about to cross the roundabout by MacDonald's when an otter (yes, it WAS an otter) crossed in front of my car and disappeared in the direction of Lochside..

Now I'm waiting for D to finish talking on the phone to Sarah so we can watch an episode of "Randall & Hopkirk (deceased)". Not the original which I remember from my childhood but a redo by Reeves and Mortimer which D gave me for Christmas. It's genius :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.