Hope is a New Fruit Tree

We just planted a Flavor King pluot, chosen for its low chill hours. It seemed a fitting way to end the old year, or to set a goal for the new. It is a happy little tree already, and we have named her Lucy, for the young woman who helps us in the garden.

It's been hugely windy all day here; I swear I can even feel the breeze in the living room as I huddle by the fire. Wind is absolutely not my element; being outside this morning was exhausting, and now even hearing the gusts rattle the enormous palm trees across the street saps my energy. My goal for the evening is to stay awake long enough to sample the persimmon cake that we baked earlier. The whole house smells spicy and sweet, and just needs a hint of espresso to balance the combination. Luckily Mr S and I agree that a slice of cake and a sip of coffee make a perfect New Year's toast, so here's to all you blippers out there: Happy New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.