Resolutions and ruminations on another New Year

"Let our New Year's resolution be this: we will be there for one another as fellow members of humanity, in the finest sense of the word."
 -  Göran Persson (1949 - ) prime minister of Sweden1996 to 2006.

Well, here I am.  A selfie for my seventh 1st of January Blip journal entry. Unfortunately, very low resolution as it was an impromptu snap using Photo Booth, whilst staring at my laptop watching and grading videos of my students' recent music performances, but it's too late now to take another pic today .... Anyway, after seeing this, my 2019 goal now, at the moment at least, is to lose about ten years in 365 days as I seem to have gained years exponentially  since my last 1st January selfie in 2014.  (I spent a nostalgic few minutes looking back through Blip). Realistic resolutions however, have not yet been tweaked to achievable goals. Watch this space. Something from the Land of Altruistic Sense of Self Purpose or Delusional Self Improvement maybe? (Enid Blyton and the Folk of the Faraway Tree cannot compare to these two promised lands). Or maybe I will change the my world;  talking of which, so pleased to see that Elizabeth Warren has decided to have a shot at running for President in US, Go Girl.  

BTW, does it still count as a "holiday" if you spend all day home alone marking students' work ?  - sigh - it's that time of year I suppose, as we move towards the end of the semester, term grades and final exams. Hoping to settle down and catch up with your most recent kind comments and lovely journals as soon as I've finished marking and poured myself a(nother) beer.  

Note: one unintentional result of the photo is that is shows some of my much loved prints by splendid British artist Gary Hodges. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.