Tuesday: Looking In

OK, I'll just come right out and say it. I have been suffering from a hangover and took most of the day to recover. But we did have fun last night and certainly saw in the new year in an entertaining way so I'm not particularly regretful.

H and J went down to the beach today but K. and I were feeling a bit too sorry for ourselves to join them so we had a quiet day. We actually enjoyed just lazing around and reading.

They came back from the beach with a great restaurant recommendation from someone they had got chatting to. It was called 'El Brujo' and was very close to our accommodation - we had an excellent meal there tonight. I had chicken stuffed with mango - and now feel right as rain.

-------------------------------------------------

I'm not sure if this book is getting the same publicity in the UK as it is in this part of the world but I have just finished the really excellent 'There, There' by Tommy Orange. It's his first novel and has featured consistently on all the Best Of 2018 lists I've seen. It's a fascinating read about a group of indigenous Americans, centring on an upcoming pow-wow in Oakland. Basically it's an excellent account of what it means to be First Nations in the US today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.