Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Mylee

My aunt died unexpectedly on 23rd November. I didn't mention this explicitly in my blip for that day, but if you look back at its title, you'll see how I referred to the sad news. This death came so soon after that of my friend J and the dreadful day of her funeral, that I felt that there had already been enough gloom and doom in my journal in November, and I didn't want to add any more.

After work tonight we drove down to my parents' house so that we can all go to the funeral together tomorrow. My parents saved my aunt's obituary from the Hexham Courant (the local paper) to share with us. When it was first published last week our side of the family was rather surprised to see my aunt's connection with Paul McCartney and the Beatles revealed to the world.

As far as we knew, this was a closely guarded secret, largely because my uncle (my father's brother) did not like to be reminded of my aunt's ex-boyfriend. When my aunt burnt all her letters from McCartney (hidden for years inside a picnic basket) we believed it was at the insistence of my uncle. I wasn't even sure until this week that my cousins had any inkling of their mother's long-ago romance. Anyway, it turns out that they've known all along, and my uncle even wrote to Sir Paul when my cousin A got married a couple of years ago to ask if he would like to play the piano at her wedding!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.