WIDE WEDNESDAY - THE NATURAL WORLD

It was definitely a “cold and frosty morning” today so just after 8.30 a.m. I was out in the garden in my pink robe and flip flops - I know, I’m mad, but the neighbours are already aware of that, so there is no problem there!

I wandered around taking various photographs of frosty plants, but like this one the best, as as I haven’t taken part in the Wide Wednesday challenge for sometime, thought I would enter this as my Blip for today.

This is a climbing rose bush that in the summer has pretty pale cream flowers and it looks great on our blue fence - in fact, it doesn’t look too bad today, except it is showing signs of sprouting, so does need pruning quite hard and then in the summer, we should see more beautiful roses.  I’m never quite sure how to prune vigorous climbing roses, but I do know it needs to be done and preferably before the end of March;  I don’t often leave them, as many gardeners do, so that they get completely out of hand but I do have a few weeks yet.

Mr. HCB has been out forking over our long bed in the garden, so we need to sit down and work out what plants we have and what others we will need to cover an area of about 40 feet long and varying in depth from 4 to 6 feet.  This is the first time we have ever taken all the plants out of the bed since we moved into the house 37 years ago so it was long overdue for an overhaul.  Mr. HCB said that there is a lot of worm activity in the bed and all he is waiting for now is some manure, which he will be going to collect with a friend, hopefully before too much longer.  I can see us poring over garden catalogues for a few evenings very soon.

“Everything has seasons, 
     and we have to be able to recognise 
          when something's time has passed 
               and be able to move 
                    into the next season. 
Everything that is alive 
     requires pruning as well, 
          which is a great metaphor 
               for endings.”
Henry Cloud

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.